Nagoya Writes

January 6, 2008

Summertime Blues by Sarah Mulvey

Filed under: Issue: Dec 2006,Mulvey,Poetry — usbengoshi @ 6:29 am

(To a Red Autumn Beat)

Writer’s Notes: This poem was written on a high-humidity, low-tolerance, 37-degree Nagoya summer’s day. I was just beginning my ten-minute trudge to work (which at that time meant jumping around with 6-year olds) and the sweat was pouring down. As always, the days when you don’t want to be seen are the days when you bump into everyone you know. My friend Maria took one look at me and said; “Oh dear. You look just like a drooping flower.” So, a poem was born. (I have since bought an air-conditioner. Oh, and I no longer jump around with 6-year olds. Summer this year wasn’t quite so bad!)

-i-

Drooping flower
head bent in defeat
overbearing, oppressive heat

The summer sun
beats
down on me
my head the surface
on which the unforgiving
rays of solar energy
belt out their
summertime riff

as lazy black and yellow
bees
keep the time
that neverending beat
bop bopping around
the listless drooping flower
that is me

Summertime blues
my July August identity
head still bent
in defeat

Oh please
I beg that yellow orb
so circular and infinite
cease, cease grant me
Peace

-ii-

My Autumn self
lazes, gazes
contentedly
stretching limbs and breathing deep
the crispness in the air

a timpani
resounding for all
to hear
rat-a-tat

Fall air is wisdom, knowledge
books cracked open, pens gliding
smoothly
over linen white paper
scritch-scratch
telling stories, rhymes and myth
of summertimes past
that no longer exist

For Autumn is here
her glory unfolding
oranges yellows fiery reds
my head
held high to see and breathe
and feel at long last
a sensation
that is truly
Peace

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

