Nagoya Writes

February 9, 2008

Tuesday Afternoon by Garry Firth

Filed under: Firth,Issue: 2001,Poetry — usbengoshi @ 6:26 pm

A supposed guard dog stops howling, and skulks away.
I keep on praying for its last day.
My son, who was asleep, is now asking for more.
I ask, blood rising, “what is more.”
Apple juice, apple juice that’s what I need
just one minute son, I’ll give you your feed.
This is my tuesday afternoon.

We are all back sleeping in the dreamtime zone,
but not for long as there goes the phone.
It’s a nice personage from NTT,
It’s been three weeks since he last spoke to me,
requesting some info about my calling overseas
and if I switched to them how I’d be pleased.
This is my tuesday afternoon.

Now the phone is unplugged and I slump to the floor,
before head hits pillow there’s a knock at the door.
Its a woman selling castles, or was it a watch tower,
I pray to the lord to give me the strength and the power.
If only the supposed guard dog would viciously attack,
I am starting to regret breaking its back.
This is my tuesday afternoon.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

