Nagoya Writes

November 4, 2009

September 2009 Open Reading

Filed under: Open Reading Minutes,Sussler — usbengoshi @ 6:00 am

In the last days of Summer, nine gathered in the Red Rock for our Reading.
Entertainment with a serious message.

Richard Russell ( UK )
prose < Lives of a Professional Foreigner >
After five jobs, I emerge as a professional foreigner.

Evan Mac Oisteagain ( Ireland ) debut
poem < The Fall of Rain >
sandbags, a restaurant step considers the gathering rain.
poem < Leaving Nagasaki >
I look for outlines on harbor walls.

Tim Chambers (USA)
prose < Moon Beam Highway, Chapter Mafoo’s and Chili >
Its what’s in the bowl that is the problem

Shannon Coles ( Australia )
prose < Read is a Transitive Verb > ( a critique of Ulysses )
I asked the three wise men, Me, Myself and I

Albert Sussler ( USA )
prose < The Bicycle Repair Shop >
When I dry the tube off and get the patch ready, I can’t find the dam hole again.
Thank you Leah, Ivy, Masami and Okiko for your support.

I must now address the atmosphere of the Red Rock. In the last two readings there has been noise form customers that has brought our readings to a stand still. First in August, a drunk woman shouted about loosing her purse, then yesterday customers purposely tried to out talk our readers.

This is no place to conduct a serious reading. Even with a poster I placed on a table announcing out Reading, there  was no help. It has been a good place for our readings for the last year, and I appreciate Joe’s help in giving us a space to perform and inspire our members. But this has  gone too far.

It is time for our group to relocate. If there are any suggestions for a good location.
Requirements: An easy to find, intimate room, with good sound control near a station in central Nagoya.

Please let me know in the next week. I will be exploring myself in the mean time.

The next Reading will be on October 25th

cheers to you all.
Albert

1 Comment »

  1. Hello.

    I’m new to Japan and live in Gifu prefecture but come to Nagoya every weekend because Gifu is bit quiet on the adventure side. I was wondering if it might be ok to come to your reading on the 29th? I don’t really have anything that i would like to read but it would be nice to meet other writers as there aren’t too many in my area.
    Also, do you guys meet at other times too? How do your readings work usually? Do you have to read something out or do you ever just have an informal chat about ideas? Sorry for the long list of questions, I am intrigued.

    many thanks,

    Ellie.

    Comment by Ellie — November 20, 2009 @ 9:47 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

